The Musical Fruit Cake… With Salted Caramel Sauce

Beans, beans, the musical fruit
The more you eat, the more you toot

I don’t know about its parping potency but this cake is darn tootin good!

I enjoy experimenting with healthy cakes that taste sinful. I have tried adding various veggies and beans into many desserts including avocado pudding. courgette cake, beetroot cake, carrot cake, sweet potato brownies… the list goes on. My hands down favourite sneaky healthy ingredient is beans! I have tricked people into thinking they were eating deliciously devilish brownies when in fact they were eating my bean brownies. This cake is however hands down my favourite. Now I wish I could claim the recipe as my own as it is goddamn genius. It beautifully combines coffee, vanilla, chocolate and vanilla to make the tastiest cake.

The original recipe can be found here Brilliant Black Bean Chocolate Cake the only change I made was to swap the 3 eggs for 3 tbsp chia seeds mixed with 3 tbsp water to make vegan ‘egg’ it just makes the outcome a little more gooey than I think it would be if eggs were used. The recipe is so easy, you literally blend everything and bake. That’s my kind of cake.

DSC_1012

Now I was feeling slightly self indulgent and I didn’t want my cake to go it alone. It needed a buddy. Something a little salty sweet. I had recently discovered home made vegan caramel sauce. It is so easy and oh wow it is so good. I can eat it by the spoonful straight from the jar. The recipe can be found here Vegan Caramel Sauce. Let me know what you think, I promise you won’t regret making this one.

DSC_1021

Of course, everything is better with ice cream. I added a generous dollop of Swedish Glace ice cream on top of my still warm cake and drizzled the caramel sauce all over it. I promise if you make this dessert for anybody they will be sure to love you forever. Heck, if you make this for me, I will love you forever!

DSC_1030DSC_1032

Happy caking buddies!

Questions for you…

What is your favourite healthy dessert hack?

Have you made any resolutions?

What is your all time favourite dessert?

 

Love,

Olivia ♥

Leave a comment